Qantas is today announcing two new board members, including a new Chairman, as part of its ongoing renewal.

John Mullen will join the Qantas Board from 1 July 2024 as Non-Executive Director and Chairman Elect, and will assume the role of Chairman ahead of the Company’s Annual General Meeting this October.

Dr Nora Scheinkestel will also join the Board from 1 March 2024 as a Non-Executive Director and Chair of the Remuneration Committee.

Both Mr Mullen and Dr Scheinkestel’s positions on the Board will be put to shareholders at the AGM. Mr Mullen expects to reduce his existing professional commitments over time.

These new appointments follow the retirement of long-serving directors Maxine Brenner and Jacqueline Hey, who will step down after the company’s half year results tomorrow, and the retirement of current Chairman, Richard Goyder, prior to the AGM.

Announcing the changes, Mr Goyder said: “Careful management of the board renewal process has been an important part of guiding Qantas through this intense period, and the selection of a new Chair reflects a new chapter.

“Vanessa Hudson and her team have made progress towards delivering better outcomes for customers, and I’m confident that momentum will continue with the guidance of new board members of such high calibre.

“John brings a wealth of experience as a director and chairman of similarly large and complex companies to Qantas, as well as great depth from his long executive career in the transport sector both here and overseas. He is the right choice to lead the national carrier into its next phase.

“Nora is one of the most seasoned company directors in the country, with more than 25 years’ experience on numerous boards across leading utilities, finance and logistics firms as well as her deep knowledge of regulatory matters.

“On behalf of their fellow Board members, I’d like to recognise the huge contribution that Maxine and Jacquie have both made during their 10 years on the Qantas Board, particularly during the unprecedented challenges we faced during the pandemic and in restarting the airline.

“It’s an honour to serve on the Qantas Board. The company’s history and purpose make it unique in corporate Australia, and so does the incredible passion of everyone who is part of it. There’s still much work to do but it is an amazing company with a bright future,” added Mr Goyder.


“It’s an extraordinary privilege to take up the chairmanship of the national carrier. It is a company that I have admired all my life and I am greatly looking forward to helping Vanessa and the management team take the company to new heights of service and performance excellence.

“I am conscious of the time commitment that this prestigious role requires and will be adjusting my other professional obligations to ensure that I can be fully focussed on this exciting challenge.

“Qantas has consistently featured as one of the world’s very best airlines, and now that the pandemic is behind us and the airline industry gets back closer to normal, I have every confidence that Qantas will continue to excel. I am honoured to become a part of this journey.”


“Qantas holds an iconic place not only in the Australian economy but in our society. It is a great privilege to join the Board and I look forward to working with my fellow directors and management to see Qantas build on its important history.”

The Qantas Group will report its Half Year results on 22 February 2024. Independent reviews into key governance matters, announced late last year, are ongoing and will report back by mid-2024.


  • Treasury Wine Estates – Chairman (2023 – present)
  • Brambles – Chairman (2017 – present)
  • Telstra – Chairman (2016 – 2023); Non-Executive Director (2008 – 2023)
  • Other former directorships (Toll Holdings, Macquarie Airports, Embarq LLC)
  • Asciano – CEO (2011 – 2016)
  • DHL Express (1994 – 2009); Global CEO (2005 – 2009); CEO Asia Pacific (2002 – 2005)
  • TNT Ltd (1984 – 1994); CEO TNT Express Worldwide (1990 – 1994)


  • Origin Energy – Non-Executive Director (2022 – present)
  • Westpac – Non-Executive Director (2021 – present)
  • Brambles – Non-Executive Director (2020 – present)
  • Oceanagold – Non-Executive Director (2018 – 2019)
  • Ausnet Services – Non-Executive Director (2017 – 2022)
  • Stockland – Non-Executive Director (2015 – 2018)
  • Telstra – Non-Executive Director (2010 – 2022)
  • Atlas Arteria Ltd – Chairman (2014 – 2020)
  • Takeovers Panel – Member (2010 – 2016)
  • Orica – Non-Executive Director (2006 – 2015)