On 1 December 2017 the European Common Aviation Area (ECAA) Agreement between the EU, its Member States, the Kingdom of Norway, Iceland and the Western Balkan partners1 entered into force.

The aim of the Agreement is to create a European Common Aviation Area based on free market access, freedom of establishment, equal conditions of competition and common rules including in the areas of safety, security, air traffic management, social aspects and environment. Once fully implemented, the Agreement will effectively integrate the Western Balkan partners in the EU internal aviation market.

The gradual transition of the Western Balkan partners towards joining the ECAA is phased out across two transitional periods and subject to the assessments carried out by the EU. In terms of the integrations of the Western Balkan partners in the EASA system, the Agreement specifies that - at the end of the second transitional period - the Joint Committee established under the Agreement shall determine the precise status and conditions for the participation in EASA.

1 The Republic of Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, the Republic of Serbia, Montenegro and the United Nations Interim Administration Mission in Kosovo*