Aurora will receive five additional DHC6-400s in 2018, purchased in part by the Sakhalin government in order to perform flights to the Kuril Islands.

The regional government and Aeroflot will also allocate funds for the purchase and the recapitalization of the airline.

Aurora plans to introduce direct flights from Yuzhno-Sakhalinsk to the South Kuril island of Shikotan, and will resume regular service between the island of Severo-Kurilsk Paramushiro and Petropavlovsk.

On the islands Shikotan and Paramushir, the government plans to construct runways.

Aurora's fleet currently consists of 24 aircraft, including ten 10 A319s, 11 DHC8s and three DHC6s.