The Aircraft Fleet Recycling Association (AFRA) announced the election of three new individuals to its Board of Directors during the Association’s Annual Meeting on July 9-11 in Reston, Virginia. This newly-constituted AFRA Board of Directors then confirmed the slate of officers for the 2017-2018 term.

Joining the Board of Directors for a three-year term are James Cobbold, Air Salvage International, Mike Corne, eCube Solutions, and Jason Reed, GA Telesis LLC. Also, the Association recently invited Philippe Fournadet, Tarmac Aerosave SAS to serve a one-year term as an appointed member of the AFRA Board of Directors. AFRA is pleased to welcome these individuals to the Board of Directors, and looks forward to their participation and contributions to the progress of the Association.

In their first meeting of the 2017-2018 term, the Board members elected their officers. Continuing as AFRA President and Vice-President are Derk-Jan van Heerden of AELS BV and Amy Bann of Boeing Commercial Airplanes, respectively. Serving another term as Treasurer is Marco Gehr of ELG Haniel Group. And AFRA’s newly elected Secretary is Kahina Oudjehani of Bombardier.

AFRA Board members are individuals who show commitment to AFRA and to the aircraft disassembly, recycling, or affiliated industries. They are elected by the AFRA members during the Association’s annual election process.

Board members work alongside AFRA staff to advance the initiatives of the Association. They are expected to become familiar with AFRA’s strategic plan, finances, budget, and financial needs, to help communicate and promote AFRA’s mission and programs to relevant stakeholders, and to be alert to membership concerns that can be addressed by AFRA’s mission, objectives, and programs.

The current AFRA Board of Directors and officers are as follows:
AFRA President Derk-Jan van Heerden, AELS BV
AFRA Vice President Amy Bann, Boeing Commercial Airplanes
AFRA Treasurer Marco Gehr, ELG Haniel Group
AFRA Secretary Kahina Oudjehani, Bombardier
James Cobbold, Air Salvage International Ltd.
Mike Corne, eCube Solutions
Jason Reed, GA Telesis LLC
Gary Spoors, GJD Services Ltd.
Nigel Marsh, Rolls-Royce plc
Philippe Fournadet, Tarmac Aerosave SAS

The Annual Meeting also provided AFRA with the opportunity thank outgoing Board members for their dedicated leadership and contributions. The out-going Board members are Bradley Gregory, Air Salvage International Ltd., Keri Wright, Universal Asset Management, and Tim Zemanovic, Jet Yard, LLC.